LKH and Modeling Life

Keep it clean but fun.
Last Known Hero

LKH and Modeling Life

Post by Last Known Hero »

Hey guys,

I figured now that I have been doing some upgrading on my workflow that I could share with some of you incase you decide to start doing 3D modeling, or for existing 3D artists here. I'll start off with the programs I use.

My main modelling tool is 3DSMax,which I now upgraded to 2010 and I enjoy the change in the color scheme. I started off modelling using AC3D, and to be honest I still use it sometimes. But the leap from AC3D to Max was pretty large, the interface on max is much more daunting than it actually looks. I have been working with Max for almost 2 years now, maybe more. I do my skinning and basic modeling in it and enjoy learning new things from various tutorials and concepts in my head.

The Second program in my workflow is ZBrush 3.0, I wish that I had 3.5 because I LOVE the new feature for Surface Noise. I use Zbrush for quick form modeling (more explanation later) and for its incredible normal map generation. I generally sculpt studies of the anatomy, defining each muscle group and trying to pay close attention, when I truly mean to spend some time on the anatomy I can spend about a day per muscle group, then after I have everything sketched out (for proportions) I go back through and define even further using ZBrushes HD Sculpt (AMAZING tool) it allows me to sculpt at 1 billion or more polys. I start to add details like where you would be able to see the muscle conecting, tendons, veins, sometimes skin detail but I have a hard time making it look realistic.