Basic Browser Game Tutorial using Smarty and Bootstrap

Post all your tuts or request for tuts here.
Kesstryl

Basic Browser Game Tutorial using Smarty and Bootstrap

Post by Kesstryl »

I found this tutorial today which shows step by step how to build a brower game using Smarty and Bootstrap, and tries to make it accessible to absolute beginners. There is a demo game up, and the completed game is on Github. I thought this tutorial would be great for those who would like an intro into using frameworks for browser games.

http://makingbrowsergames.com/basic-bro ... -tutorial/
a_bertrand

Re: Basic Browser Game Tutorial using Smarty and Bootstrap

Post by a_bertrand »

Honestly I would not pick smarty for a web game. You could do something really similar just with plain PHP and have a lighter game at the end. Also, if I would design a text we game I would still go for an ajax or websocket game and not a click and load one anymore.
Creator of Dot World Maker
Mad programmer and annoying composer
Sharlenwar

Post by Sharlenwar »

This is great! Even if there are better ways of doing things, for beginners it is wonderful.
Deep within the Void of Quasion, a creation.

**My Corner of the Web**
***NEW***GrindFest - My own PHP/MySQL game!
Sharlenwar's Adventures
Torn-City - Massively multiplayer online text based RPG
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

I loathe smarty. Not saying any more :)

However this is a great way for people to learn frameworks!
Kesstryl

Post by Kesstryl »