Page 1 of 1

Script error only in Google Chrome Browser

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:35 am
by Klown
Hey guys!

I know there are a lot of very smart javascript guys out there. I am not one of them. I have a repetitive error showing in google chrome version 33.0.1750.xxx
Image

I have confirmed there is indeed an id with that id on the same page as the script. the script is located directly below the [body] tag as suggested by the script installation documentation. I do not get this error in IE or FF in any version I have tested yet.

Here is the script code:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript" src="wz_tooltip.js"></script>

This is the line I use to call the tooltip:

Code: Select all

<DIV ID="message"><a href="view_messages.php" target="mainFrame" onmouseover="TagToTip('messages')" onmouseout="UnTip()"><img src="img/mail.png" onmouseover="this.src='img/mail_on.png'" onmouseout="this.src='img/mail.png'"/><span id='messages'>View Messages</span></a></div>
The .js file is in the same directory as this web page and as far as I can tell throws the error on different tool tips throughout the page. Above I have only included one instance of a call to the class file.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Dustin

Re: Script error only in Google Chrome Browser

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:30 am
by a_bertrand
Maybe try to use another lib for the tool tips, or at least give us the URL to test it directly.

Re: Script error only in Google Chrome Browser

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:11 pm
by Chris
It can't find an element with the id 'vprofile'.

Also, never use uppercase for html, that's from back in HTML 1.0 we don't do that any more.

Re: Script error only in Google Chrome Browser

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:20 pm
by Klown
Thanks for the replies.

The error box gives the website URL. You can create an account and test if you like. - Any help would be appreciated.

Chris:

Thanks for taking time to help. There is a [span id='vprofile']Tool Tip Message[/span] on main.php if you view source. I have also tried variations like: [div id='vprofile']Tip Message[/div] with no luck either. The message keeps popping up in chrome 33.x

Also - thanks for the lowercase tip on the html tags. I'll go back and change those later today where I can find them. I don't think I did it on too many pages.

Any other help would be very much appreciated.

Re: Script error only in Google Chrome Browser

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:12 pm
by Klown
Chris wrote:It can't find an element with the id 'vprofile'.

Also, never use uppercase for html, that's from back in HTML 1.0 we don't do that any more.

Update - Thanks for the html tag tip. I'm pretty sure that was the issue. Since replacing the uppercase div tags with lowercase the issue seems to have gone away.

Thanks Chris - you're always very helpful!


Dustin