Seeking Advice On What Order To Study Languages?

C++, C#, Java, PHP, ect...
Verahta

Seeking Advice On What Order To Study Languages?

Post by Verahta »

I was hoping for some advice on my "Learning Agenda" or schedule, whatever you want to call it.

Maybe a tip or suggestion about what order I should study them in, or maybe what aspects of each to study and which to put off until later? I'm finding myself overwhelmed with information so I end up going in circles and wasting time, which is starting to really frustrate me.

I already have experience with XHTML/CSS from making web sites, but I am not an expert, I do need to brush up on the more advanced stuff in this area.

I have very basic experience with PHP/MySQL, and I've been introduced to Python and C. Ignore C, I am only partially learning that for a computer science class.

This is my current list of languages to study, and I think this is all I will need to create my PBBG, but feel free to suggest something I may have left out:

XHTML/HTML5/CSS3
PHP and MySQL
Python
Javascript
Jquery
AJAX
Node.js and Socket.io

I'm just seeking some advice on what to do in what order cause right now I am all over the place and that's not helping me at all.

Thank you for any tips on this, I really do appreciate some guidance.
"In order to understand recursion, one must first understand recursion".
Jackolantern

Re: Seeking Advice On What Order To Study Languages?

Post by Jackolantern »

If you are going to start with PHP (a good first language), I would leave Python out until later. If you are using PHP, you have little use for Python. Python is a great language, but wait until later when you have more use for it (Python's only place in PBBGs is as a back-end language, but you will already have PHP).