What makes a good Campaign?

Talk about game designs and what goes behind designing games.
vitinho444

What makes a good Campaign?

Post by vitinho444 »

Hello guys, after my finals next week (Tuesday i make the math exam) i will focus 20000% on making my first (this is a long list) FPS-STEALTH-MULTIPLAYER-SINGLEPLAYER-FULL CAMPAIGN game.

Some of you (the veterans): HAHA good luck rookie (I'm in the industry for 3-4 years so I'm a newb) you gonna need it, probably you will fail.

But hey, i need to try to fail right? So i will.

Ok, i already started some basic multiplayer setup (never did this, I've been watching lots of tutorials, i have like 2 playlists on YouTube with 40+ hours total) but i want to focus more on the Singleplayer campaign.

I've asked my team to get busy, and I think they are serious with this, I am, and we have 2 missions already and a "background" story for the player and so on.

What i need to ask you guys is what you guys think that makes a good single player campaign, like how many missions, the length, the details etc etc. Please tell me everything you like and dislike on Single player modes so i can improve this game to the best.

Thank you :)
My Company Website: http://www.oryzhon.com

kaos78414

Re: What makes a good Campaign?

Post by kaos78414 »

In a stealth-oriented FPS ? Not sure I've played one. I've played several third person stealth games, though. Metal Gear series and Splinter Cell of course. Typically what makes me enjoy a campaign is the story; the levels need only fit the story, and put you in places that make sense to advance the story. Any side missions need to have their own story that makes sense with the main story.