Difficulty - a wimp out

Talk about game designs and what goes behind designing games.
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Difficulty - a wimp out

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

Something I have noticed since the moment I started playing games is the usage of difficulty to cover up design flaws or lack of content. For instance, making a game extremely hard to move on to the next level because there are too few levels, or making spell progression very hard because of too few spells or making an area small because the rule system of that area is not balanced.

I see this over and over and it drives me nuts. It is a game killer and to me the weakest way to cover up flaws or lack of content. Some of the worst games I remember as a kid all have these issues. Back to the Future for NES is a game I will never forget. I shot my NES with a 16 gauge over that game. No joke. Was so POORLY designed and back then you paid all your money for a game. $50 was a lot to come by for a young kid and buying it over something that could have been good and entertaining was a final straw.

I am seeing the same with FTL. Very fun game but lack of content has caused the designers to make it extremely difficult. Final Fantasy 8 was another example. They could not properly build AI for the last main boss so they gave her 10,000,000 hp. Settlers of Catan fudges the dice rolls in the PC's favor to add difficulty. (Many PC board games do that).
Mardonis

Re: Difficulty - a wimp out

Post by Mardonis »