Help Display Javascript Seconds As Real Time

C++, C#, Java, PHP, ect...
Klown

Help Display Javascript Seconds As Real Time

Post by Klown »

Hi Guys:

As I mentioned in the topic below I am just learning Javascript. I have searched high and low for a solution to this problem.

I need a method for getting the current time, adding some seconds onto that time, then formatting that time in javascript as readable time.
The code below is part of a larger function which gets looped by set interval.

My hope is i can get this code to display: HH:MM:SS as the current server time + the time in seconds I add to it. Not the amount of hours, mins and seconds since a time in the past. this currently shows the real time if I remove the +travelTime from the variables but I have tried a lot of combinations to get this to work as well as it does so far.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

Here is my code so far:

Code: Select all

var travelTime = (distance * timePerUnit) / travelSpeed;

var timeH = new Date().getHours()+travelTime;
var timeM = new Date().getMinutes()+travelTime;
var timeS = new Date().getSeconds()+travelTime;

//var arriveAt = (time + travelTime);

var arriveAt = timeH + ":" + timeM + ":" + timeS;

document.getElementById('arrivalTime').value = arriveAt;
if( $myGames != "Crap" ) {
  • please_donate( $money );
} else {
  • just_enjoy();
}
Renavoid

Re: Help Display Javascript Seconds As Real Time

Post by Renavoid »

I recommend using some sort of plugin to format the date, though you don't have to do this. That would allow you to do something like date.toString('hh:mm:ss'), though it depends on the implementation you can find. Since you're trying to display one time, I suggest manipulating a single Date object, rather than multiple. Create a variable, and then you can use the setSeconds method to add your travel time - and it will correctly update minutes, etc.