Question about PHP

For discussions about game development that does not fit in any of the other topics.
Jackolantern

Question about PHP

Post by Jackolantern »

All this talk on this board about using PHP to write web-based games has finally converted me. I am now picking out some books to read on the topic (I know there are probably thousands of tutorials on the internet, but what can I say, I like books :roll: ), and I am noticing something. They all seem to play down OOP. Most of them either save the OOP discussion until waaay down the line of the book, or they don't discuss it at all.

How important is OOP to PHP? I am an experienced programmer, but almost all my experience is with strictly OOP languages. The last time I used a procedural language, I was a kid and did not have a very good grip on programming at all. Are most PHP scripts written in a procedural paradigm?
The indelible lord of tl;dr
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Re: Question about PHP

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

anyone you ask who has used PHP for a long time will tell you its two totally different worlds with using PHP in a OOP style and using it just as procedural. Once you start using it more of a OOP based you will never go back :)

I don't use very classes and such very often but PHP is far more powerful with them. PHP is one of those languages where you can get by without using them so hence many people do not fool with the Object Oriented side of it. That's not to say it doesn't have one, its very powerful. Sometimes its easier to teach people the basics and getting them actually producing before introducing too much.
Jackolantern

Post by Jackolantern »

That makes sense. So I am assuming that it is a multi-paradigm language then, like C++, where you can drop back to just writing C-style procedural code, or you can work in a semi-OOP fashion using a mixture of classes and global code?