Specifications

Place for questions and answers for all newcomers and new coders. This is a free for all forum, no question is too stupid and to noob.
Last Known Hero

Specifications

Post by Last Known Hero »

I know this question is asked time and time again but usually for MMO development. But for a single player RPG what would you say the poly count for a character could be, for the case of a game that wants to have high graphics. Can Unity handle high polies very well?
Power3DArt

-Current Project: Fault [Pre-Alpha]
OldRod

Re: Specifications

Post by OldRod »

I'm just getting started with Unity myself (seriously at least) and from what I'm reading, 1400-1500 polys on an animated model is pretty ideal.

I think you can get away with more depending on what kind of level geometry is around, but that seems to be the standard.
Last Known Hero

OldRod wrote:I'm just getting started with Unity myself (seriously at least) and from what I'm reading, 1400-1500 polys on an animated model is pretty ideal.

I think you can get away with more depending on what kind of level geometry is around, but that seems to be the standard.
Your kidding right? 1400-1500? Theres no way its that low otherwise Unity has hit a new low for me

http://www.gameartisans.org/gamecon/gal ... 8&aw=10901
That model is just a low poly bust and is past that.
Power3DArt

Jackolantern

Post by Jackolantern »