Web Community

Got a kewl website or have a website question? Hosting? Servers?
The fix

Web Community

Post by The fix »

I am wondering if there are any tutorials on how to build a web community similar to this such as, home page + added pages and forums. Are there any free web builders you would suggest, hosting, servers, etc? Other suggestions and guidance is welcomed.

I have no coding background. >.< So, I would need some sort of tutorial.

I am wanting to have few graphics added such as,
buttons pop up and/or flash back color, or vines upon mouse over (something akin to Indies-resources home page)
possibly falling dust
a few very tiny firefly, glowing bug/balls of light

However as mentioned before, I want to keep it pretty clean, similarly to Indies-resources website/community.
Torniquet

Re: Web Community

Post by Torniquet »

well good luck trying to build that with no coding practice :s

this is where i started...

http://www.developphp.com/view.php?tid=132

tells you how to build a community website such as facebook etc
New Site Coming Soon! Stay tuned :D
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

look into Joomla also.
The fix

Post by The fix »

Thank you for your responses.

I have so far tried Wix and google/yahoo
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

joomla is a very easy way to have a website with lots of features, then use phpbb3 for the forums, both are very easy to setup and install.
The fix

Post by The fix »

Thanks! I will look at them asap.

I thought about taking coding classes in college; however, with finishing my graduate studies in medicine (M.D.), I find the lack of interest to tack on extra classes in my spare time.