Torque3d goes open source!

Neo-Axis, Torque, 3D GameStudio, DarkBasic, Blitz3d, ect...

Torque3d goes open source!

Postby hallsofvallhalla » Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:45 pm

User avatar
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11933
Images: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:29 pm
Location: mobile, al
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 156 times
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Torque3d goes open source!

Postby Jackolantern » Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:50 pm

Wha-wha-what?!? :shock: :shock:

EDIT: I think this goes to show just how badly Unity is tearing up Torque 3D in the market. Very neat move, though, and particularly cool that they used MIT and not any of the GPL licenses.
The indelible lord of tl;dr
User avatar
Jackolantern
 
Posts: 10888
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Torque3d goes open source!

Postby Cayle » Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:00 am

Very interesting, especially considering that the old licence was one of the reasons that the MMOKit had distro problems. I always liked Torque. As difficult as it could be to work with, noting else could touch its networking. It has a unique philosophy. The game engine is built around the network stack. Yes, that makes it wonky, *cough* datablocks *cough*, but those same things that make it wonky and difficult to work with make it very lightweight on the bandwidth.

Other engines (I'm looking at you, Unity) added it in later and did not implement the scoping/ghosting, which is part of Raknet (under a different name) and suffer fomr the "easy to get started, but impossible to scale" disease.

All in all, a very good thing.
Cayle
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:45 pm
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Torque3d goes open source!

Postby hallsofvallhalla » Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:08 am

agreed. No engine to date has even remotely touched Torques Networking for the price but what a pain this engine can be!

A couple of us over at http://www.mmoworkshop.com/trac/mom/phpbb are talking about getting it working with the kit now.
User avatar
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11933
Images: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:29 pm
Location: mobile, al
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 156 times
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Torque3d goes open source!

Postby OldRod » Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:31 am

That would be cool! I always wanted an MMO Kit that worked well with T3D.

On another front... MMOWorkshop.com is back? wow, I missed that!
User avatar
OldRod
 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:26 am
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times


Return to 3d Engines

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

x