Selecting a good multiplayer framework

Place for questions and answers for all newcomers and new coders. This is a free for all forum, no question is too stupid and to noob.
Renokun

Selecting a good multiplayer framework

Post by Renokun »

Greetings!

I am new to posting on this forum, but after looking through past posts, this looks to be the perfect place to ask for opinions and information!

Looking to making a simple graphical game project, I am now tasked with finding a networking base that is not overly complex for me, as I am a beginning programmer going on intermediate. I know just enough to get myself into trouble/lost. I have thought about commercial packages, such as Photon and SmartFoxServer (SFS is a personal favorite, but the cost...) but money is an issue and I'd rather code with intent to use what I start with. For free/open source, I have looked into Red Dwarf Server, but I am unable to find any information to help me use it. Lidgren is another one I am examining, but examples seem to be in short supply - I was following a coding tutorial on Youtube and the guy stopped three videos in and I had no idea where to go.

I have recently become aware of HTML5 packages that handle networking, but this is a new frontier for me, and I have no idea how to set up or compile anything, let alone get started with them or connect using a non-web client as most are bundled with. Same issue with Python. Scala and Akka also baffle me. The Isogenic Engine looks very awesome and can handle all I could need, but I cannot afford it at this time, sadly.

My current plan of action is to take a simple MUD system, perhaps in C# or VB as I enjoy .NET's approachability, and modify it into a simple game server. I don't need rapid package sending as this will, at most, be a turn based approach. I will be making a client to connect to the server. This is by no means my final decision on what to do, but about all I can do alone with my current knowledge.