Javascript in chrome

Place for questions and answers for all newcomers and new coders. This is a free for all forum, no question is too stupid and to noob.

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Jackolantern » Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:00 pm

Is it a style or a script that isn't working right in Chrome?
The indelible lord of tl;dr
User avatar
Jackolantern
 
Posts: 10893
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Epiales » Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:32 pm

Jackolantern wrote:Is it a style or a script that isn't working right in Chrome?


If you watch the small video I made of the attack system, in Chrome, when you click attack, it does nothing. It won't echo the output and it won't update the database at all.
Nothing fancy, but a work in progress!

http://gameplaytoday.net
User avatar
Epiales
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:38 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Jackolantern » Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:00 pm

I watched the video, but wasn't picking up what was supposed to be happening.
The indelible lord of tl;dr
User avatar
Jackolantern
 
Posts: 10893
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Epiales » Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:03 pm

Jackolantern wrote:I watched the video, but wasn't picking up what was supposed to be happening.


You see at the bottom? Where it starts off with Your battle has started? Then a few seconds later it tells you whether you won or lost? And then displays what you lost/won? Well on Chrome, it doesn't do any of that for whatever reasons I don't know. Maybe because it's just on my localhost and I need to upload it to the server to check it. But still strange that it should also work on the localhost.
Nothing fancy, but a work in progress!

http://gameplaytoday.net
User avatar
Epiales
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:38 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Epiales » Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:37 pm

I was right, it's not working on the server either. And I have chrome setup to work with javascript, so I have no idea. Maybe someone can signup for the game and check the attack system from chrome for me?

http://gameplaytoday.net

I don't have the equations all done, so health goes above 100 percent, ect... but the attack system should be working.

*EDITED* And if anyone can tell me how to have the game lined up when you join it would be great. Right now you have to click the CTRL button and scroll your mouse until it all lines up :( :( :(
Nothing fancy, but a work in progress!

http://gameplaytoday.net
User avatar
Epiales
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:38 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby kaos78414 » Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:55 am

Chrome is probably the most flexible and up to date in terms of javascript compatibility (not sure about ES6 though), so I would assume its something you haven't set up, or maybe chrome isn't loading in the javascript or has an old version cached. Try going to your site or localhost in Chrome, then hit CTRL+SHIFT+R to reload (this shortcut also clears cache for the current site). I'm at work right now so can't go sign up for the game, maybe after work today I'll go check it out.
w00t
User avatar
kaos78414
 
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 12:36 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Mardonis » Mon Oct 13, 2014 10:41 am

In the developer tools in chrome for your game:

(1)When i first log in after hitting the login button i get a -
GET http://gameplaytoday.net/images/gallery-icon.jpg 404 (Not Found) user.php?u=Mardonis:169
I guess that could be because i havent uploaded a photo or icon for it yet since i just signed up? maybe have a default icon show up for first time register users until they change their picture?

(2) Due to not being able to send pictures on what i see (corporate restrictions) on the main page in the Notifications category it looks like it is alos saying "Thug" with it. Kind of like how you have two words right on top of each other.

(3) Im trying to fight but i dont see what to click on to fight. Chose a quest to get a gun but didnt have enough to test, also even for a knife to use.

So far the first one is the only thing I see coming up in errors. If you can temporarily give me more money I can test it for you.
Mardonis
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:54 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Epiales » Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:39 pm

Mardonis wrote:In the developer tools in chrome for your game:

(1)When i first log in after hitting the login button i get a -
GET http://gameplaytoday.net/images/gallery-icon.jpg 404 (Not Found) user.php?u=Mardonis:169
I guess that could be because i havent uploaded a photo or icon for it yet since i just signed up? maybe have a default icon show up for first time register users until they change their picture?

(2) Due to not being able to send pictures on what i see (corporate restrictions) on the main page in the Notifications category it looks like it is alos saying "Thug" with it. Kind of like how you have two words right on top of each other.

(3) Im trying to fight but i dont see what to click on to fight. Chose a quest to get a gun but didnt have enough to test, also even for a knife to use.

So far the first one is the only thing I see coming up in errors. If you can temporarily give me more money I can test it for you.


I put some money and bullets in your account. The image is set to "null" when you register, so not sure why you get that error. I have changed the Street Thug to "Trainee" so that solves that problem.

To attack it is under rankings. The gun... Thank you for checking things for me.
Nothing fancy, but a work in progress!

http://gameplaytoday.net
User avatar
Epiales
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:38 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Epiales » Tue Oct 14, 2014 4:50 am

I just reset my chrome from the advanced settings, and everything in Chrome is now working as it should. Game is working fine in Chrome on my end now.
Nothing fancy, but a work in progress!

http://gameplaytoday.net
User avatar
Epiales
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:38 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Javascript in chrome

Postby Mardonis » Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:47 am

looks good now. except I see a stray green progress bar in the middle of the page towards the top when I was trying to attack. trying to pinpoint where that is coming from. it happens after I click the opponents name. ok finally found it. it is right where you make your two divs together called hpointsbackATK and hpointsATK. hope that helps.
Mardonis
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:54 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to Beginner Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

x