best engine/engine combo for mmorpg

Place for questions and answers for all newcomers and new coders. This is a free for all forum, no question is too stupid and to noob.
uh oh

best engine/engine combo for mmorpg

Post by uh oh »

Hi, I’m a total noob almost a moron, despite that I’m seriously playing with the idea to try to make a game so please have mercy over me and my stupid questions..
I’d like to know what is the best engine for an isometric mmorpg, also is it possible to use more engines like e.g. use some features from isogenic engine libraries and other features of some other engine?
Jackolantern

Re: best engine/engine combo for mmorpg

Post by Jackolantern »

I have to say Isogenic Engine is most definitely not a beginner-friendly engine. What programming experience do you have?
The indelible lord of tl;dr
uh oh

Post by uh oh »

Well, I guess amateurish would be a tiny bit of an overstatement when it comes to me and programming. I’ve checked quite a few programming tutorials over the years but the instances when I applied some programming skills were very rare (some basic to intermediate php with mysql back in the days).

My knowledge of programming fundamentals is next to none. I know of value type and reference type data, stack and heap but that’s about it, there are many other expressions (e.g.: managed/non managed structs, command line runtime etc.) I’ve heard but have virtually no idea what they are about.

Its just lately I started to look more closely at java script after stumbling over one of Gene Howell’s tutorials.
I have to say js is quite unsettling to me. It has too many weird ways of instantiating things and calling events. I still can’t wrap my head around creating objects without names (if my observations were right), in some cases I couldn’t figure out how some data was passed into a function etc.