Mmorpg

Place for questions and answers for all newcomers and new coders. This is a free for all forum, no question is too stupid and to noob.
kimsiyan

Mmorpg

Post by kimsiyan »

Hello, I am new here and I am currently studying on how to make browser based mmorpg like BrowserQuest
i am an I.T student and i do have backgrounds for HTML/css(websites only) and C# but when i started learning
on how to make browser based mmorpg it really makes me confuse. Can anyone tell me steps in order to make it. just the steps
so it does not make me confuse.. (how it become online/multiplayer, database..etc..) i have searched some guides and they say they are using java script.
a_bertrand

Re: Mmorpg

Post by a_bertrand »

BrowserQuest is basically mainly JS code running on the browser, with some parts on the server for example to handle web sockets. You could either rely on pre-made JS engines (there is quite a few out there) or implement all by yourself. Be prepared to code a lot to have a multi player RPG, and not only that, you will need art and content (story / quests / items / monsters).

I wrote a while back a tutorial about how to make an ISO game from scratch, but I don't think this is was you want. So for sure, first thing: learn JS ;)
Creator of Dot World Maker
Mad programmer and annoying composer
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

Did they change browserquest from flash? It use to be all flash.
kimsiyan

Post by kimsiyan »

can you give me some ideas on where should i start and step by step in order to understand and create a mmorpg.
OldRod

Post by OldRod »

hallsofvallhalla wrote:Did they change browserquest from flash? It use to be all flash.
No, BrowserQuest is the one that's done by Mozilla, all in javascript and HTML5. It's not Flash.

https://hacks.mozilla.org/2012/03/browserquest/

As for the poster's question, not sure. I played around with the code only very little.
Jackolantern

Post by Jackolantern »