Creation of a RTS browser based game.

Place for questions and answers for all newcomers and new coders. This is a free for all forum, no question is too stupid and to noob.
JFoulke

Creation of a RTS browser based game.

Post by JFoulke »

Hi, i’m new to the website and also new to the world of the game creation.
For a few years I wanted to create a web based RTS game, but unfortunately often the tutorial I found wasn’t what I was looking for because they were explaining how to create single player RTS games.
What I would like to create is a web based multiplayer modern war RTS game, really similar to Desert Operation but with more variety in troops and weaponry. https://desertoperations.gamigo.com
Unfortunately I have zero previous experience with coding with video games, so i’ve never even started.
But luckily recently I found a guy willing to help that has experience with coding for accountants programs (I know it’s nothing like coding a game but at least he has experience with coding for something)
Could you help us finding out with what language we could work and which engine we could use?
Thank you a lot
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Re: Creation of a RTS browser based game.

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

The site is blocked at work for me so will check it tonight and get back to you. If it is web based real time you are looking at Nodejs most likely or even Unity using the HTML5 plugin but if it is turn based then you have quite a few options. PHP, Javascript, Java, ect..
JFoulke

Post by JFoulke »

hallsofvallhalla wrote:The site is blocked at work for me so will check it tonight and get back to you. If it is web based real time you are looking at Nodejs most likely or even Unity using the HTML5 plugin but if it is turn based then you have quite a few options. PHP, Javascript, Java, ect..