Unity Section

General Discussion on the Unity Engine.
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Unity Section

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

You asked for it so here it is! Since most of us here are using it or at least trying it I figured we might as well have a spot for it :)

Unity3d is free now
http://unity3d.com/
Sakar

Re: Unity Section

Post by Sakar »

Actually, it's just called Unity, not Unity3d ;) They made the URL Unity3d.com because unity.com was already taken.

Nice to have the section though!
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

thanks for the info, i will change
SpiritWebb

Post by SpiritWebb »

I have it at home, and I started playing with it last night...and for the life of me I cannot figure out how to work the thing. I figured out how to create a terrain and "paint" the world. But I cannot figure out how to place textures down, objects, etc. Blah, need help...

Got so frustrated I wanted to throw the laptop out the window...lol...

hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

hehe have you read through the tutorials? The way i place textures is i minimize my unity window to halfscreen or so then I open up my computer and browse to the texture i want. I then drag the texture over to the unity editor to the folder. This auto adds the texture to your project. I then take and drag the texture to the 3d view of unity to the object i want to texture.
SpiritWebb

Post by SpiritWebb »

I will try that then. Just for the life of me I couldn't figure out how to place the trees down, the foliage, etc. I think I might have figured that part out, but couldn't get the textures to work. Thanks Halls, I will try that later tonight.

towcar

Post by towcar »

I love how you can make massive forests in a few click, that feature just blew me away.
Yea Try and work through the tutorials as much as you can, you'll learn so much!
SpiritWebb

Post by SpiritWebb »