Angular 2 Musings

Keep it clean but fun.
KHill

Angular 2 Musings

Post by KHill »

At work, I've just started on a client's project, and we've opted to use Angular 2 (coupled with entity framework, and a bunch of other web-app agivens). I've never used it before (nor did I use Angular 1), but it's kind of fun to get into something that has little-no documentation because it really builds self-teaching skills. While it has a kind of steep learning curve, I'm starting to really enjoy it. Has anyone else worked with either version of Angular? And if so, I'm curious what your thoughts are on it, and more relevantly, how it could be applied to game development as essentially a substitute for something like PHP.
Jackolantern

Re: Angular 2 Musings

Post by Jackolantern »

I am working with Angular 1.4 on my current client project. An early release version of Angular 2 was available when we started but we quickly decided against using it because it was just too early. Now we are too far into development to change to Angular 2.

A lot of the problems we have come up against in Angular 1 have largely been passed over directly from Javascript. Namely, the lack of data schemas. Probably a lot like your project, we are targeting web services (Web API in .NET to be exact). We pass a lot of DTOs back and forth between the client and the web services. A lot of this data has similar objects in it that we keep seeing over and over again: credit cards, addresses, toll tags, etc. Take credit cards for example. We all pretty much know what that is going to include: credit card number, expiration date, card type, etc. There is some normalization of these field names due to the legacy web services that connect to the database that our web service layer connects to. But when it comes to sending DTOs from the client to the web services there is no normalization at all. So just for credit card number, you could have creditCardNumber, creditCardNbr, ccNumber, etc.