Videos 1-20

Location of the Videos
Post Reply
User avatar
windextor
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:50 pm

Videos 1-20

Post by windextor »

Hey guys!

I took the liberty of uploading all of Halls' videos to MediaFire, as well as the source code.

Here are the links:

Video Tutorials Part I

Video Tutorials Part II

Part I contains videos 1-7, as well as the source code.

Part II contains videos 8-20.

The files are split this way due to size limitations (200MB per file on a free subscription: the thing is that the first batch of videos has a lot of a b c subsections, while videos 10-20 do not).

For those of you only looking for videos 11-20 (since 1-10 were already uploaded here), there goes another link:

Videos 11-20

And finally, the source code alone:

Code
Last edited by windextor on Fri May 28, 2010 3:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin
Posts: 12023
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:29 pm

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

you rock thanks!
Phill94
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by Phill94 »

Yea, thanks for posting!
Guys, lemme notice you about some of Halls' tiny fails:

statpanel.php (Halls' version)

Code: Select all

////////////////////////new for video 17////////////////
echo"<br>";
 $expneeded = ($playerinfo3[level] * 100) * $playerinfo3[level];
  if ($playerinfo3[exper] >= $expneeded)
 {	echo "<br><a href='levelup.php'>Level Up!!</a>";}
?>
</div>
As you can see, $playerinfo3[level] <- forgot the ' signs. Same with 2 others there.
Just take that part above and replace it with this code:

Code: Select all

////////////////////////new for video 17////////////////
echo"<br>";
 $expneeded = ($playerinfo3['level'] * 100) * $playerinfo3['level'];
  if ($playerinfo3['exper'] >= $expneeded)
 {	echo "<br><a href='levelup.php'>Level Up!!</a>";}
?>
</div>
:)


I also gets an Notice: Undefined variable: bypass in C:\wamp\www\tutorial\index.php on line 60 error on my index page, but I can't figure out whats wrong unfortunately. :?
User avatar
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin
Posts: 12023
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:29 pm

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

its not that i forgot them, my environment doesn't require them. I often forget that most people's do. Thanks for pointing it out though so everyone knows what to fix.

can you post line 60 of you code so we can find the problem?
Phill94
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by Phill94 »

I'll just paste the whole code..
I have set two "marks" so you can find line 60.

index.php

Code: Select all

<?php
include_once 'connect.php';
session_start();

include_once 'logo.php';
?>
 <link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<div id="login2" div align="center">


<?php
if (isset($_SESSION['player']))
{
  $player=$_SESSION['player'];
}
else
{
  echo "Not Logged in <br><br> <A href='login.php'>Login</a>";
  exit;
}
?>
</div>

<?php
$playerinfo="SELECT * from players where name='$player'";
$playerinfo2=mysql_query($playerinfo) or die("could not get player stats!");
$playerinfo3=mysql_fetch_array($playerinfo2);
include_once 'statpanel.php';
 ?>
 <div id ="locations">
 <?php
$playerhp = $playerinfo3['hpoints'];
if ($playerhp < 1)
{
  echo "You are dead!" ;
  echo "<br><a href='useitem.php>Use an Item";
  exit;
}

if(isset($_GET['map']))
{
$bypass=1;
echo "<a href='index.php?mapchange=1&mapname=Crocania'>Crocania</a><br>";
echo "<a href='index.php?mapchange=1&mapname=Fordale Woods'>Fordale Woods</a><br>";
echo "<a href='index.php?mapchange=1&mapname=Mintus Mountains'>Mintus Mountains</a><br>";
}

if(isset($_GET['mapchange']))
{
$bypass=1;
$mapname = $_GET['mapname'];

$updateplayer="update players set location='$mapname' where name='$playerinfo3[name]'";
  mysql_query($updateplayer) or die("Could not update player");
  
echo "You have traveled to " . $mapname . ".<br>";
echo "<a href='index.php'>To location</a><br>";
}

// Line 60 below  
if($bypass != 1)
// Line 60 above
{
echo "<b><big><u>" . $playerinfo3['location'] . "</u></big></b><br>";
echo "<a href='store.php'>Visit Store</a><br>";
echo "<a href='weaponshop.php'>Visit Weapon Shop</a><br>";
echo "<a href='armorshop.php'>Visit Armor Shop</a><br>";
echo "<a href='inn.php'>Visit Inn</a><br>";
echo "<a href='spelltrainer.php'>Visit Spell Trainer</a><br>";
echo "<a href='battle.php'>Battle in Arena</a><br>";
echo "<a href='index.php?map=1'>Go to Map</a><br>";
}


 ?>
 </div>
<div id="logout">
<?php
echo "<br><a href='logout.php'><img src='images/logout.gif'></a>";
?>
</div>
User avatar
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin
Posts: 12023
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:29 pm

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

oh just change this

Code: Select all

<div id ="locations">
<?php
$playerhp = $playerinfo3['hpoints'];
if ($playerhp < 1)

to this

Code: Select all

<div id ="locations">
<?php
$bypass= 0;
$playerhp = $playerinfo3['hpoints'];
if ($playerhp < 1)
basically you just need to define the variable before calling it. Just set it to 0.
Phill94
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by Phill94 »

- Thanks.

I am here again with an Notice: Undefined variable: pllocation in C:\wamp\www\TING\trublood\battle.php on line 97
Code: (Just scroll down until you see the "//////////////////// new for video 20", the line below is line 97.)

Code: Select all


<?php
include_once 'connect.php';
session_start();

include_once 'logo.php';
?>
 <link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<div id="login2" div align="center">


<?php

 


if (isset($_SESSION['player']))
{
  $player=$_SESSION['player'];
}
else
{
  echo "Not Logged in <br><br> <A href='login.php'>Login</a>";
  exit;
}
?>
</div>
<?php
$playerinfo="SELECT * from players where name='$player'";
$playerinfo2=mysql_query($playerinfo) or die("could not get player stats!");
$playerinfo3=mysql_fetch_array($playerinfo2);

include_once 'statpanel.php';

$pid = $playerinfo3['id'];
$name = $playerinfo3['name'];
$playerhp = $playerinfo3['hpoints'];
$playerattack = $playerinfo3['attack'];
$playerdefense = $playerinfo3['defense'];

?>
<div id="table">
<?php

 if (isset($_GET['randid']))
{
   $randid=$_GET['randid'];
   $iteminfo="SELECT * from inventory where randid='$randid' AND id ='$pid'";
$iteminfo2=mysql_query($iteminfo) or die("could not get item stats!");
$iteminfo3=mysql_fetch_array($iteminfo2);

if (!$iteminfo3['name'])
{
}
else
{

$iname = $iteminfo3['name'];
$stats = $iteminfo3['stats'];
$statadd = $iteminfo3['statadd'];
$type = $iteminfo3['type'];
 
 if ($type == "healing")
 {
   $newhp = $statadd + $playerhp;
   if ($newhp > $playerinfo3['maxhp'])
   {
    $newhp = $playerinfo3['maxhp'];
   }
    $updateplayer="update players set hpoints='$newhp' where id='$pid'";
  mysql_query($updateplayer) or die("Could not update player");

    $updateitem="DELETE from inventory where id='$pid' AND randid='$randid' limit 1";
  mysql_query($updateitem) or die("Could not delete item");
   
   $playerhp = $newhp;
  
  echo "Used " . $iname . " and recovered " . $statadd . ".<br>";
 }

}}

 
 


$creature = $playerinfo3['creature'];
 if ($creature != 0)
{
 $creatureinfo="SELECT * from creatures where id='$creature'";
$creatureinfo2=mysql_query($creatureinfo) or die("could not get the creature you were fighting!");
$creatureinfo3=mysql_fetch_array($creatureinfo2);

}
else
{
//////////////////// new for video 20
$areaninfo="SELECT * from locations where location='$pllocation' AND type='arena'";
$areaninfo2=mysql_query($areaninfo) or die("could not get arena");
$areaninfo3=mysql_fetch_array($areaninfo2);
$arenalevel = $areaninfo3['level'];

  $creatureinfo="SELECT * from creatures where level <= '$arenalevel' order by rand() limit 1";
$creatureinfo2=mysql_query($creatureinfo) or die("could get a creature!");
$creatureinfo3=mysql_fetch_array($creatureinfo2);
$cid = $creatureinfo3['id'];
$updateplayer="update players set creature='$cid' where name='$name'";
  mysql_query($updateplayer) or die("Could not update player");
}

$creature = $creatureinfo3['name'];
$creaturehp = $creatureinfo3['hpoints'];
$creatureattack = $creatureinfo3['attack'];
$creaturedefense = $creatureinfo3['defense'];



?>
</div>
<div id="player">
<?php
/////player info
echo "<u> " . $playerinfo3['name'] . "</u><br>";
echo "Hit points = " . $playerhp . "<br>";
echo "Attack = " . $playerattack . "<br>";
echo "Defense = " . $playerdefense . "<br><br><br>";
?>
</div>
<div id="creature">
<?php
///////creature info
echo "<u> " . $creatureinfo3['name'] . "</u><br>";
echo "Hit points = " . $creaturehp . "<br>";
echo "Attack = " . $creatureattack . "<br>";
echo "Defense = " . $creaturedefense . "<br><br><br>";

echo "<a href='attack.php'>Attack</a>";
echo "<br><a href='usemagic.php'>Use Magic</a>";
echo "<br><a href='useitem.php'>Use Item</a>";
echo "<br><a href='index.php'>Exit Arena</a>";


?>
</div>

<div id="logout">
<?php
echo "<br><a href='logout.php'><img src='images/logout.gif'>";
?>
</div>

User avatar
Torniquet
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by Torniquet »

make location='$pllocation'

location='$plocation'
New Site Coming Soon! Stay tuned :D
Phill94
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by Phill94 »

Torniquet wrote:make location='$pllocation'

location='$plocation'
Still doesn't work.
User avatar
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin
Posts: 12023
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:29 pm

Re: Videos 1-20

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

looks like $plocation isn't defined anywhere

define it by adding the bottom line to this

Code: Select all

include_once 'statpanel.php';

$pid = $playerinfo3['id'];
$name = $playerinfo3['name'];
$playerhp = $playerinfo3['hpoints'];
$playerattack = $playerinfo3['attack'];
$playerdefense = $playerinfo3['defense'];
$pllocation = $playerinfo3['location'];///add this line
Post Reply

Return to “Older Browser MMO Videos”