MMORPG discussion + an idea

Talk about game designs and what goes behind designing games.
zinroc

MMORPG discussion + an idea

Post by zinroc »

Hi Indie Resources,

I've been following Hallsofvallhalla's tutorials on-and-off for years and am a big fan. I'm not a programmer and don't think I'll every be super talented in that regard, but through your tutorials I've had a blast turning small game ideas into reality. I'm also not a professional game designer, just an enthusiast.

I'd like to open a discussion surrounding an idea I've been crafting for quite a while now. It has to do with high fantasy MMO's so I'll open with the issue I see with this genre in the modern day:

Clone MMO's:

Player Experience
I'd describe clone MMO's as WoW type games. You start as an off the shelf character, and then grind it through a pre-determined path (usually described as a PVP or PVE path) and make one more clone in a world filled with them.

Motivation
Any "motivation" for what you are doing is purely flavour text. The goals and reward system of horde and alliance are the exact same, neither cares about stopping Arthus, they just want to beat the boss and get the loot.

Reward System
PVE = kill and loot, PVP = Kill and rank to unlock loot

These limitations are well known and have motivated the "next generation" of MMO's.

Next Generation MMO's
(examples are Eve Online, Pathfinder, Wurm, Mortal Online and a whole bunch more I'm sure you're familiar with)

Player Experience
The player usually starts with an off the shelf character with a continuum of possibilities that they can do. The items, structures, economy and factions of the world are player run. The player can actually become a significant power in the world and shape it.

Motivation