Quick Action (or) PRESS X NOT TO DIE events.

Talk about game designs and what goes behind designing games.

Quick Action

Total votes: 0

Noctrine

Quick Action (or) PRESS X NOT TO DIE events.

Post by Noctrine »

How do you feel about them, are they necessary to make people get into the feel of how epic a character is? Or are they just a sly way to package a movie as a game.
----

I don't know, initially (what was it God of War?) I thought Quick Action events were amazing. But now I can't really say so much. As both a player they kind of annoy me, as a designer, I try coming up with ways to embrace them and avoid them.

The main reason for me is, they destroy what little most games cling to that design powerterm the Suspension of Disbelief oh yeah, iz a professional.... I mean sure, there is an epic scene of awe inspiring badassery going on in the background but can I enjoy? No! Why? Because a Giant freaking picture of a button appears on screen. So what little time I have to watch whatever random action the player character is pulling off with all the grace that we gamers are apparently incapable of executing if its not simplified is taken away because when they happen in a chain the next one always covers up what action your taking at the moment. And spreading out the event timing makes it less like a game, and more like a movie that likes to randomly pause and occasionally restart itself from the last chapter (or god forbid the beginning of the stage even sometimes..

Now I am not going to discount everyone on this, some people spend time to make the symbols less obvious.