NWE still worth purchasing?

General Chat, Comments
BrisbaneGamer

NWE still worth purchasing?

Post by BrisbaneGamer »

Hey everyone,

Is NWE still worth purchasing, for someone who used MC Codes many years ago, and would like to create a game similar to Torn.com?

From what I have read on here, it is apparently far more secure than MC Codes, though is also no longer being actively developed?

I have limited coding knowledge (mainly HTML / CSS) and know my way around databases, planning on doing an advanced web design unit at university next semester, covering PHP, SQL etc.

Any recommendations would be appreciated - wouldn't mind trying to make one myself eventually.

Cheers, Mark.
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Re: NWE still worth purchasing?

Post by hallsofvallhalla »

If you don't mind being on your own then yes except not at the price of $100. You may want to contact the owner directly and see if he will sell you a copy cheaper. $100 for a project not being supported or developed on is a bit steep.
BrisbaneGamer

Post by BrisbaneGamer »

Thanks for the response, I sent a message 5 days ago enquiring about the script, though haven't heard back.

Part of me in tempted to use the MC Codes V2 script that I purchased years ago, though I understand that this is probably not smart from a security point of view. NWE looks good, some of the functionality is a bit different though.
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin

Talk to Kal about his PBBG engine. I will shoot him a message to come here.
a_bertrand

Post by a_bertrand »

Come on... Not even answering to a potential customer. I start to really feel sorry about having sold this engine. Giving it away as open source would have been a better choice. All my fault, sorry guys.
Creator of Dot World Maker
Mad programmer and annoying composer
KaL

Post by KaL »

Hey Brisbane.