Server console allowing input for commands?

All things HTML5 or text based engines, or really any web based engines.
Post Reply
Devildog52
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:55 am

Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by Devildog52 »

Is it possible to allow the console to be able to take commands? Thanks.
User avatar
coolbloke1324
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:20 pm

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by coolbloke1324 »

Hi ya,

I guess what you mean is you want to have a console that is connected to the server-side and allows you to debug?

You can do this using Node.js in various ways, it's not specifically IGE related but googling will help "remote debug node.js".

Personally I prefer not to do it manually and instead use PHPStorm (or WebStorm) because it has a built-in debugging system for Node.js which allows breakpoints, variable and stack inspection and console commands all from the IDE.
CEO & Lead Developer
Irrelon Software Limited
http://www.isogenicengine.com
Devildog52
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:55 am

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by Devildog52 »

Alright, I am able to start the server in Phpstorm now, but there's a problem with the directory format (I think). I get a failed to load resource error (using blank multiplayer example) whenever I try loading the client.

Image

Image

Problem is the forward/back slashes. When I try adding the back slash:

Image
User avatar
coolbloke1324
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:20 pm

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by coolbloke1324 »

Hey, your second screenshot is the same as the first, cannot see the error :)
CEO & Lead Developer
Irrelon Software Limited
http://www.isogenicengine.com
robaldred
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:54 pm

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by robaldred »

If like me you're more of a command line user... I use node debugger
Works very much like ruby's debugger and others. simply put "debugger" in your code to set a break point.

It's as simple as:

Code: Select all

node debug ige.js -g path/to/game
Devildog52
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:55 am

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by Devildog52 »

Sorry, forgot to mention that the change was in the line "Starting game server in path..."
User avatar
coolbloke1324
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:20 pm

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by coolbloke1324 »

Hey.

Bit confused. .. what is the actual error? Looks like its loading ok?
CEO & Lead Developer
Irrelon Software Limited
http://www.isogenicengine.com
Devildog52
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:55 am

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by Devildog52 »

Image

If I don't put in the ./, it automatically does C:\route\to\folder/vmkr_multiplayer

Seems like it always adds a / no matter what I put
User avatar
coolbloke1324
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:20 pm

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by coolbloke1324 »

Hey

Yes that is correct. The path must be relative!
CEO & Lead Developer
Irrelon Software Limited
http://www.isogenicengine.com
Devildog52
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:55 am

Re: Server console allowing input for commands?

Post by Devildog52 »

Image

produces

Image

notice the "\PhpstormProjects\ige/vmkr_multiplayer". Reason why I'm posting this is because when loading the client, it says failed to load resource. So I'm assuming it can't connect to the server.
Post Reply

Return to “HTML5/Web Engines”