Anyone tried Phaser?

The place to ask questions about 3DStudio Max, Blender, Pro Motion, open source items, libraries, ect..

Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby Jackolantern » Wed May 14, 2014 10:17 pm

I am not sure why I never came across Phaser HTML5 game engine, but the feature list is extremely impressive for an open source MIT engine. If it delivers on all of the features, I would say it hands-down has Impact beaten on features. Next up is to actually give it a go and see how it works. Playcraft engine was also very impressive at first glance, but the API was extremely unwieldy, using lengthy and complex JS objects for even the most simple of features. That ruined Playcraft for me (not to mention the fact that it is basically abandoned now), so I am hoping Phaser is not like that.

Has anyone checked it out before?
The indelible lord of tl;dr
User avatar
Jackolantern
 
Posts: 10865
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 89 times
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby a_bertrand » Wed May 14, 2014 11:36 pm

Yes checked out is the term.... I don't want to link myself to any of those. I had to link myself to Three.js and I can tell you I already see the down side.
Creator of Dot World Maker
Mad programmer and annoying composer
User avatar
a_bertrand
New Worlds Engine creator
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:46 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby Jackolantern » Thu May 15, 2014 12:04 am

Was there anything wrong with it?
The indelible lord of tl;dr
User avatar
Jackolantern
 
Posts: 10865
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 89 times
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby a_bertrand » Thu May 15, 2014 12:05 am

With phaser? I would say it's ok for games like small flash equivalent, but not useful at all for bigger one. Again personal opinion.
Creator of Dot World Maker
Mad programmer and annoying composer
User avatar
a_bertrand
New Worlds Engine creator
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:46 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby Jackolantern » Thu May 15, 2014 12:28 am

What made it unsuitable for large projects? I understand it is just a personal opinion. I was just curious.

Oh, and I just realized this is the "Mighty Fingers" engine, if anyone remembered hearing about that one.
The indelible lord of tl;dr
User avatar
Jackolantern
 
Posts: 10865
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 89 times
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby a_bertrand » Thu May 15, 2014 2:27 am

Well it is strongly based on the game loop and the fact all objects are handled by the engine. You don't have good options to have items placed and removed from the game item list (think about a big world, certainly not all objects will be there all the time), anyhow, it really depends what kind of game you are after.
Creator of Dot World Maker
Mad programmer and annoying composer
User avatar
a_bertrand
New Worlds Engine creator
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:46 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby hallsofvallhalla » Thu May 15, 2014 8:36 am

User avatar
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11901
Images: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:29 pm
Location: mobile, al
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 152 times
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby hallsofvallhalla » Thu May 15, 2014 2:44 pm

Jackolantern wrote:Oh, and I just realized this is the "Mighty Fingers" engine, if anyone remembered hearing about that one.


Isn't "Mighty Fingers" just built on of Phaser?
User avatar
hallsofvallhalla
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11901
Images: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:29 pm
Location: mobile, al
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 152 times
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby Jackolantern » Thu May 15, 2014 3:54 pm

hallsofvallhalla wrote:
Jackolantern wrote:Oh, and I just realized this is the "Mighty Fingers" engine, if anyone remembered hearing about that one.


Isn't "Mighty Fingers" just built on of Phaser?


About 3 or 4 years ago, the "Mighty Fingers Engine" was in development. I remember seeing some tech demos around that time. But then the core was separated out and became Phaser, and the Mighty Fingers name lives on as a separate point'n'click editor that is somewhat external to Phaser.

a_bertrand wrote:Well it is strongly based on the game loop and the fact all objects are handled by the engine. You don't have good options to have items placed and removed from the game item list (think about a big world, certainly not all objects will be there all the time), anyhow, it really depends what kind of game you are after.


Exactly the kind of info I was needing. Thank you!
The indelible lord of tl;dr
User avatar
Jackolantern
 
Posts: 10865
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 89 times
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Anyone tried Phaser?

Postby Sharlenwar » Thu May 15, 2014 4:07 pm

But, if any of you find a kick butt engine, then please share as I am interested. I'm diving into the php/msql realm for now, as I want to mess with that. I do plan on using an engine for a 2d game I have in mind.

This is great info!
Deep within the Void of Quasion, a creation.

**My Corner of the Web**
Sharlenwar's Adventures
Torn-City - Massively multiplayer online text based RPG
User avatar
Sharlenwar
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 2:14 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Blog: View Blog (2)

Next

Return to Programs/Assets/Libs/Open Source/Ect...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

x